Department of hydrometeorological research of the Caspian sea

The main tasks are:

Methodological guide to the organization and conduct of hydrometeorological monitoring of the Kazakh sector of the Caspian sea.

Development of methods for marine forecasts and regulatory documents.

Issue of short - and medium-term, specialized marine forecasts, as well as long-term forecasts of fluctuations in the level surface of the Caspian sea, reviews of overburden events and ice conditions in the Caspian sea.

Completing and maintaining a database of operational data on the main hydrometeorological characteristics of the Caspian sea and the Caspian region.

Performing research on hydrometeorological problems of the Caspian sea and the Caspian region.

Participation in international projects on the problems of the Caspian sea.

Apply method:

Calculations of the level surface and wind currents are performed using the Danish MIKE 21 technology adapted to the conditions of the Caspian sea, based on numerical forecasts of wind fields and atmospheric pressure obtained in accordance with the license agreement with the European center for medium-term weather forecasts (great Britain), as well as information received from Kazakhstan stations and posts and interstate exchange stations.

Forecasts of the wave situation are made using the statistical method of wave prediction, as well as on the basis of the SWAN wave spectral model adapted to the conditions of the Caspian sea. The input parameters are wind field data from the European center for medium-term weather forecasts with a grid step of 0.25 o by 0.25 o.

The forecast of overburden situations is based on the developed hazard criteria.

Reviews of the ice situation are made on the basis of Hydrometerological monitoring data and analysis of satellite images.

Studies of the hydrometeorological regime are carried out using traditional statistical and hydrological methods.

Personnel potential

Employees of the Department have many years of experience in interdisciplinary research on the Caspian problem, including electronic mapping, hydrometeorological surveys, modeling of waves and flooding of the Caspian sea coast. Specialists were trained at the Danish hydraulic Institute on monitoring and modeling of hydrodynamic processes, and also improved their skills in the training centers of WMO, UNESCO, IOC, etc. The Department consists of a specialist with a PhD degree, two specialists are trained in the doctoral program of RSMU (Saint Petersburg, Russia) and al-Farabi Kazakh national University (Almaty, Kazakhstan).

Manufactured products:

Forecasts of hourly fluctuations in the Caspian sea level with a lead time of 120 hours for any area at the request of the customer in tabular and graphical form.

 

Wave forecasts for various sections of the Caspian sea in tabular or graphical form.

 

Weekly Bulletin on the Caspian sea. Includes a 5-day sea level forecast at various locations, maximum, minimum, average water levels, and charts of sea level progress over the forecast period, as well as a forecast of run-up events indicating their location and time of occurrence. In winter, a description of the ice situation on the Caspian sea. The Bulletin contains a satellite image received from the NOAA or MODIS station. It also describes the state of the water surface for the previous period.

 

Weekly newsletter for the excitement on the Caspian sea. Includes a forecast of wave height and period, as well as wind speed and direction in various parts of the Caspian sea.

 

Weekly reviews of the ice situation in the Caspian sea. A satellite image, a General description, and a table with the main elements of the ice regime based on data from Russian and Kazakh stations and posts are placed.

 

Information about the hydrometeorological regime (sea level, waves, ice conditions, water and air temperature, currents, wind).

Probabilistic characteristics of the main elements of the hydrometeorological regime of the Caspian sea.

Results of research on the state of the Caspian sea in various areas of the Kazakh sector of the Caspian sea and the main ports.

The number of forecast points and their location may change at the request of the customer.

Управление гидрометеорологических исследований Каспийского моря (УГМИКМ)

Основными задачами являются:

  • Методическое руководство по организации и ведению гидрометеорологического мониторинга казахстанского сектора Каспийского моря.

  • Разработка методов морских прогнозов и нормативных документов.

  • Выпуск краткосрочных и среднесрочных, специализированных морских прогнозов, а также долгосрочных прогнозов колебания уровенной поверхности Каспийского моря, обзоров сгонно-нагонных явлений и ледовой обстановки на Каспийском море.

  • Комплектование и ведение базы оперативных данных по основным гидрометеорологическим характеристикам Каспийского моря и Прикаспийского региона.

  • Выполнение научно–исследовательских работ по гидрометеорологическим проблемам Каспийского моря и Прикаспийского региона.

  • Участие в международных проектах по проблемам Каспийского моря.

Применяемые методы:

Расчеты уровенной поверхности и ветровых течений выполняются с использованием датской технологии MIKE 21, адаптированной к условиям Каспийского моря, на основе численных прогнозов полей ветра и атмосферного давления, получаемых, в соответствии с лицензионным соглашением с Европейским центром среднесрочных прогнозов погоды (Великобритания), а также информации, поступающей с казахстанских станций и постов и станций межгосударственного обмена.

Прогнозы волновой обстановки выполняются при помощи статистического метода прогноза волнения, а также на основе волновой спектральной модели SWAN, адаптированной к условиям Каспийского моря. В качестве входных параметров используются данные полей ветра из Европейского центра среднесрочных прогнозов погоды с шагом сетки 0,25о на 0,25о.

Прогноз сгонно-нагонных ситуаций осуществляется на основе разработанных критериев опасности.

Обзоры ледовой обстановки составляются на основе данных гидрометерологического мониторинга и анализа космических снимков.

Исследования гидрометеорологического режима проводятся при помощи традиционных статистических и гидрологических методов.

Кадровый потенциал

Сотрудники управления имеют многолетний опыт междисциплинарных исследований по Каспийской проблеме, включая электронное картирование, гидрометеорологические изыскания, моделирование процессов волнения и затопления побережья Каспийского моря. Специалисты проходили стажировку в Датском гидравлическом институте по вопросам мониторинга и моделирования гидродинамических процессов, а также повышали свою квалификацию в учебных центрах ВМО, ЮНЕСКО, МОК и др. В составе управления работает специалист, имеющий научную степень PhD, два специалиста проходят обучение в докторантуре РГГМУ (Санкт-Петербург, Россия) и КазНУ им. аль-Фараби (Алматы, Казахстан).

Выпускаемая продукция:

  • Прогнозы ежечасных колебаний уровня Каспийского моря заблаговременностью 120 часов для любого района по желанию заказчика в табличной и графической форме.

 

  • Прогнозы волнения для различных участков Каспийского моря в табличной или графической форме.

 

  • Еженедельный бюллетень по Каспийскому морю. Включает прогноз уровня моря на 5 дней в различных пунктах, максимальные, минимальные, средние уровни воды и графики хода уровня моря за прогнозируемый период, а также прогноз сгонно-нагонных явлений с указанием их места и срока возникновения. В зимний период описание ледовой обстановки на Каспийском море. В бюллетене помещается космический снимок, получаемый со станции NOAA или MODIS. Также дается описание состояния водной поверхности за предшествующий период.

 

  • Еженедельный бюллетень по волнению на Каспийском море. Включает прогноз высоты и периода волны, а также скорости и направления ветра в различных частях Каспийского моря.

 

  • Еженедельные обзоры ледовой обстановки на Каспийском море. Помещается космический снимок, общее описание и таблица с основными элементами ледового режима по данным российских и казахстанских станций и постов.

 

  • Справки по гидрометеорологическому режиму (уровень моря, волнение, ледовые условия, температура воды и воздуха, течения, ветер).

  • Вероятностные характеристики основных элементов гидрометеорологического режима Каспийского моря.

  • Результаты исследований состояния Каспийского моря в различных районах казахстанского сектора Каспийского моря и основных портов.

Количество пунктов прогнозирования и их расположение может меняться по желанию заказчика.